Top Ten Tuesday (82): Books to Re-Read


Top Ten Tuesdays is a meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish.  This week’s topic is a freebie, so I chose

Top Ten Books to Re-Read

1. Anne of Green Gables by L. M. Montgomery

2. Middlemarch by George Eliot

3. The Lord of the Rings by J. R. R. Tolkien

4. Hamlet by William Shakespeare

5. The Divine Comedy by Dante Alighieri

6. Corduroy by Don Freeman

7. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

8. The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe by C. S. Lewis

9. A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

10. The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien

What books do you find yourself reading again and again?


18 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (82): Books to Re-Read

    • Krysta says:

      The great thing about A Tale of Two Cities is that, for a work by Charles Dickens, it’s fairly short and thus the most easily re-readable! I think I’ve been wanting to reread Bleak House for something like nine years. 😉


  1. Carrie-Anne says:

    I love revisiting The Decameron, even if I only read some of the stories and not the entire thing at one time. I know my two favorite stories almost by heart.

    I’ve read and reread The Tao Te Ching so many times since I discovered it in January ’96, at age 16, and it always has a new and wonderful message for me.


  2. Nobody@The Story Goes... says:

    The main books I re-read all the time would be Percy Jackson and some of my favorite contemporaries but there are so many books that i want to re-read but the bookshelf full of unread books holds me back every time I go to pick one of them up! =)


    • Krysta says:

      That’s sort of how I started measuring how much I like a book–if I can find time to reread it, even with all the unread books on my shelves, it’s a good book!


  3. Reno says:

    The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit are always on my reread list! I can read The Hobbit over and over again no problem and in 2012 I decided to read The Lord of the Rings once a year. Another book I read every year is White is for Witching by Helen Oyeyemi.


  4. revgeorge says:

    Ah, always easy & always hard to answer this question.

    The Hobbit & The Lord of the Rings naturally.

    The Chronicles of Narnia, really as well as most everything Lewis wrote, mainly The Great Divorce, The Abolition of Man, Letters to Malcolm Chiefly on Prayer, The Screwtape Letters, & definitely Till We Have Faces.

    The Harry Potter series.

    Pride & Prejudice & also Persuasion by Jane Austen.

    Dracula by Bram Stoker

    The Hound of the Baskervilles by Arthur Conan Doyle.

    There’s so many others I’d like to include but the above are the ones that come easily to mind. And of course I’m excluding non-fiction books. And not including the Bible & Luther’s Small Catechism. All of which I re-read a lot.


    • Krysta says:

      I love your picks, though I haven’t read Dracula yet, Letters to Malcolm, or Luther’s Small Catechism. I’m so glad you mentioned Persuasion, though! It tends to be overshadowed by Pride and Prejudice.


      • revgeorge says:

        My favorite Austen novel is either Persuasion or Pride & Prejudice, depending on which one I’m reading at the moment.🙂

        Dracula is a must read. Gothic horror & epistolary exposition, what more can one want!


        • Krysta says:

          P&P and Persuasion are my favorite Austen picks, though I think P&P may be slightly in the lead. And Emma’s getting up there. Really, Austen is just too good to choose from. 😉

          I think that may be the first time I have seen “epistolary” used in a positive sense. 😀


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

