The Book Blogger Test

Blogoversary 2

A few days ago, Stephanie from Chasm of Books tagged Krysta and me in this fun Book Blogger Test!  Since our blogoversary is on Sunday, I decided to add this as part of the festivities!  Read on to find out more about me and my bookish habits!

1.  What are your top three book pet hates?

  • I’m agreeing with everyone who listed mid-series cover changes.  I know a different cover can help market a book to new audiences but…really?  Publishers do this even for very successful books, when it seems they can hold off on cover changes until they issues paperbacks, or completely new editions.  Extra negative points if the new books are also a different size from the other ones in the series.
  • I dislike when a book has a creative concept but is terribly written—and the publisher let the poor writing pass because they know the book will sell anyway.
  • Finally, I hate when people borrow my books and crease the spine or bend the pages!

2.  Describe your perfect reading spot.

I enjoy anywhere soft and comfy where I can stretch out my legs: my bed, a squishy armchair with a footrest, the sofa with a blanket.

3.  Tell us three book confessions.

  • I’ve confessed to this before, but I think it shocks people every time: I’ve never read Pride and Prejudice, nor anything by Jane Austen.  I’ve seen so many variations of movies of practically all her books that they just don’t seem exciting anymore.  Sorry!
  • I have a Kindle but I can’t stand the concept of paying the same price for an ebook as a physical copy. To be clear, I think the formats should be the same price because readers are paying for the content, not the paper the content is printed on.  I would just rather have a physical book if I’m paying $20 for it, so my Kindle gets very little use, mostly library ebooks and Netgalley ones.
  • I keep some books not necessarily because I enjoyed them but because they have good  memories attached to them.

4.  When was the last time you cried during a book?

Good question!  But, unfortunately, I don’t remember.  It’s fairly easy to make me cry with emotional scenes in books, so my crying isn’t necessarily a memorable experience.  I can tell you two books that always make me cry, though: Charlotte’s Web by E. B. White and Anne of Green Gables by L. M. Montgomery.

5.  How many books are on your bedside table?

I’m currently using my nightstand for actual book storage, rather than for books I’m reading.  No more space on the real shelves!  My currently reading pile, which migrates about my bedroom, has about four books in it right now.

6.  What is your favorite snack while you’re reading?

I don’t really have a “reading snack.”  Anything you can hold in one hand usually works for me.

7.  Name three books you would recommend to everyone.

  • To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
  • The Chosen by Chaim Potok
  • The Lord of the Rings by J. R. R. Tolkien

8.  Show us a picture of your favorite bookshelf on your bookcase.

My bookcases are in transition because I’m moving everything around, but I do really love my Tolkien shelf!

Tolkien Shelf 3

9.  Write how much books mean to you in just three words.

Books change lives.

10.  What is your biggest reading secret?

I can’t think of any secrets!  I feel so open about most of my reading habits!  I think, however, a lot of people would be surprised at how eclectic my reading tastes are.  I majored in English and my love of teen and children’s books would probably be inexplicable to many of my fellow English nerds, while some people who follow my gushy reviews on the blog might not realize how seriously I take “high literature.”


Bloggers I would love see answer the Book Blogger Test!

8 thoughts on “The Book Blogger Test

  1. bookblogger3 says:

    You simply must read Pride & Prejudice! It’s wonderful! I think I’ve only every gotten rid of four books, everything else I’ve been given or bought is still with me.


    • Briana says:

      I’ve always been a book hoarder, but now that I have to move, and shipping hundreds of books turns out to be quite expensive, I’m trying to really get rid of some. It’s working out alright so far, and there are so many left!


  2. Lianne @ says:

    Ditto as the first commenter, I hope you get a chance to read P&P at some point, there’s some really fantastic sentences in it🙂 I totally agree re: paying the same price for an eBook and a physical–often times I end up buying the physical, which defeats the purpose of the eReader and saving space! Love your LOTR shelf🙂

    I enjoyed reading your answers! Thanks for tagging me, looking forward to answering these😉


    • Briana says:

      I’ve just seen the BBC Pride and Prejudice mini series so many times, which is so close to the book, that reading it seems redundant. I’ve actually tried reading it twice!



Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

