Blogger Interview: Summer Reads YA

Interview Banner

To help celebrate our month of children’s literature at Pages Unbound, we are interviewing a different blogger each week about their favorite books and readings habits as children.  Today, we welcome Summer from Summer Reads YA!


What were your favorite books when you were growing up?

My favorite books were the “Read it yourself” versions of “Goldilocks and the Three Bears” and “The Gingerbread Man.”  I even memorized those books word for word.

How were you introduced to your favorite childhood book?

When I was 4 years old, my parents bought me a set of “Read it yourself” books and I immediately loved it.

Are there any children’s books you still love to reread?

I love rereading The Wizard of Oz. I still enjoy revisiting Dorothy’s adventure.

Did you have any literary idols or role models?

I don’t recall having a particular literary idol, unfortunately.

Where was your favorite place to read growing up?

It was at a local bookstore.  There used to be a spot where kids could sit and read while waiting for their parents. Sadly, the reading spot doesn’t exist anymore; the management decided to remove it.

How have your childhood reads shaped you?

Being a reader as a child has helped me with my pronunciation, spelling and vocabulary, but most of all, reading shaped me to be more open minded and imaginative.

2 thoughts on “Blogger Interview: Summer Reads YA

    • Briana says:

      I found that an interesting part of this interview, as well! I’ve never quite seen the appeal of reading in a bookstore, though I might have felt differently as a child. Probably it felt like such a treat to be able to sit and read while your parents went shopping!

      Now, it’s just a pet peeve of mine that people read books in stores, bend them, then expect me to buy them. Goodbye, idealism of childhood, and welcome cynicism. :p


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

