Top Ten Tuesday (79): Unique Books


Top Ten Tuesdays is a meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish.  This week’s topic is

Top Ten Books Most Unique Books I’ve Read

1. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card: I’ve never seen another book acknowledge so poignantly that adults are oftentimes unfair to children. 

2. Journey by Aaron Becker: A beautiful picture book (without words) featuring a lonely girl who draws her way into a magical world.

3. The Lord of the Rings by J. R. R. Tolkien: It’s easy to forget how original this story really is now that we have so many derivatives.  But I contend that it still remains unique in focusing on a spiritual battle–the war is won through mercy rather than through strength of arms.

4. Time’s Arrow by Martin Amis: In which the story is told in reverse.

5. The Silmarillion by J. R. R. Tolkien: I can’t imagine anyone else managing to write a book like this–a vast narrative told in high language and featuring a huge cast of characters with several names each–and actually have it published.

6. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon: Narrated by a teen with Asperger syndrome.

7. The Divine Comedy by Dante Alighieri: Dante managed to cram in just about everything in this poem.  Everything.

8. The Father Brown stories by G. K. Chesterton: Featuring a priest who solves mysteries!

9. To the Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf: Stream-of-consciousness is always a unique experience.

10. Paradise by Toni Morrison: Shifting timelines and a bit of magical realism make this an interesting (to say the least) read.

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (79): Unique Books

    • Krysta says:

      I admit at first I wasn’t sure how fond I was of Fr. Brown–I like Sherlock Holmes’s style and Fr. Brown seemed a bit bland–but it’s just so cool to see a priest solving mysteries!

      Thanks for leaving your link!


  1. Nish says:

    I wanted to mention Virginia Woolf’s Mrs. Dalloway in my list (as that was my first introduction to stream of consciousness) but I forgot. I love your list and am nodding yes to all of your selections.


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

