Top Ten Tuesday (77): Popular Authors I’ve Never Read


Top Ten Tuesdays is a meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish.  This week’s topic is

Top Ten Popular Authors I’ve Never Read

1. George R. R. Martin: But I have seen seasons two and three of Game of Thrones.  A lot of fast-forwarding through awkward parts happens….

2. John Green: I’m pretty sure a friend of mine was telling me about him before he was big, so to speak, and yet here I am still.  The only person who hasn’t read The Fault in Our Stars.

3. Marissa Meyer: Her books are on my TBR list, though.  They look so fabulous and I’ve only heard good things.

4. Brandon Sanderson: I only learned who he is a couple months ago.  Oops.

5. Cassandra Clare: I’m still not clear on what her books are about.  Vampires and steampunk people?

6. James Patterson: I assume his popularity from the number of books of his that are in the library.

7. Stephen King: I’m under the impression that if I read his books the terror will never allow me to sleep again.  Perhaps someone can tell me if this is correct.

8. Nicholas Sparks: Just not my genre.

9. Julie Kagawa: Though I once checked a book of hers out from the library and proceeded not to read it.

10. Stephanie Perkins: I’ve heard her books are excellent, but I don’t read much contemporary YA.

21 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (77): Popular Authors I’ve Never Read

  1. Lianne @ says:

    I highly, highly, highly recommend Brandon Sanderson’s works. His imagination is amazing. And I’m so glad I’m not the only one who listed John Green on my list this week; all the other bloggers have been talking about his books that I felt I was the only one left who hadn’t read his stuff

    My TTT


    • Krysta says:

      I’ve heard Sanderson’s works are so excellent. It’s just that his books are gigantic and I’m already reading four or five books!

      And I am really glad I am not the only one who hasn’t read John Green!


    • Krysta says:

      I enjoy watching Game of Thrones, but I’ve heard that the show does a good job of streamlining the plot, so I almost feel like I don’t have to read the books. Though I’m sure the books contain a lot of good stuff that couldn’t make it to the screen. And I have no idea where to start with Patterson, either. The sheer amount of his books is intimidating.


  2. April @ The Steadfast Reader says:

    Stephen King should be immediately explored.🙂 ‘On Writing’ is a fantastic memoir/writing guide. 11/22/63 is an awesome time-travel/pseudo-speculative fiction novel by King that is giant, but not at all scary. Under the Dome (also giant), suspenseful but not scary. He also wrote ‘The Shawshank Redemption’ as a novella.

    I would hold off with George R.R. Martin (at least in the Song of Ice and Fire context until he finishes the whole series. The man writes incredibly slow, so every time he publishes a new installment I’ve forgotten everything that’s happened and have to re-read 5,000+ pages. Wait for it.

    I’m with you as far as Nicholas Sparks goes.🙂


    • Krysta says:

      I just realized the other day that King wrote The Shawshank Redemption! I might have to try that one sometime, as I enjoy the movie. I’ve seen his On Writing, as well, and it looks interesting. Thanks for the suggestions!

      That’s a good point. And that way I’ll know the series will, in fact, be complete! 😉


  3. thebookrat says:

    GRRM and Sanderson are on my list of need-to-read, too. Also, from one non-contemp reader to another, you should totally pick up some Stephanie Perkins. LOVE.


    • Krysta says:

      It’s good to know that you enjoyed her works even though you don’t read a lot of contemporary! Maybe I’ll have to try her books after all.


  4. Small Review says:

    Of the authors I’ve read on that list (Stephen King, Cassandra Clare, Julie Kagawa) I don’t think you’re missing much. Stephen King has good ideas, but I don’t think they actually come together well. I loved some parts of his Dark Tower series, but overall it fizzled for me.

    Though I do recommend Marissa Meyer. I’ve only read Cinder, but it exceeded my (moderate) expectations.

    I’m with you on John Green and Stephanie Perkins. I haven’t read either of them, and I don’t plan on it.


    • Krysta says:

      It’s good to know that I’m not missing much from at least some of the authors I haven’t read. I might read John Green one day, but it’s not really a priority. I would, however, like to get hold of Cinder (if it’s ever not checked out of the library!).


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

