If You Like Pride and Prejudice, Then Read…

If You Like, Then Read is a feature where we offer reading suggestions based on books you already like, scheduled once a month. If you have more suggestions, feel free to tell us in the comments! You can check out the rest of these lists here.  Or click for books inspired by Jane Austen! 

Pride and Prejudice

For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfreund

Years ago Elliot North refused to run away with her childhood sweetheart Kai because she believed her duty lay with her family’s estate.  After all, as a member of the upper class, she has a responsiblity to care for those affected by the Reduction–the genetic mutation that caused the world to crumble and nearly all scientific advancement to stop.  Now Kai has returned as a successful explorer and Elliot suddenly wants to share his world, the world that embraces change and dares to think that the Reduction is finally over.  But Kai remains bitter and distant, and Elliot fears to leave all her old values behind.  A science fiction retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion.

The Blue Castle by L. M. Montgomery

At twenty-nine, Valancy Stirling is single and living with her family, who treat her like a child.  Then her doctor informs her that her heart complications mean she has only months to live.  Determined to find happiness in the time she has left, Valancy strikes out on her own and even proposes to the man she has come to love.  But can romance thrive in a marriage based on pity?

Middlemarch by George Eliot

As England prepares to vote on social and political reform, the inhabitants of Middlemarch find their personal lives in upheaval.  The idealistic Dorothea Brooke sacrifices herself in a loveless marriage while newcomer Dr. Lydgate finds himself ensnared by the town’s flirt.  Young Fred Vincy pines after his childhood friend, but she refuses to have him until he decides on a career.  Peter Featherstone’s relatives wait for his death while Mr. Brooke’s friends fear his public disgrace.  Meanwhile, the arrival of a young man of questionable heritage throws the entire town into panic as they consider the consequences his presence could have on the reputations of some of their leading men and women.

Death Comes to Pemberley by P. D. James

Six years after the marriage of Elizabeth Bennet and Fitzwilliam Darcy, Lydia arrives on the doorstep of Pemberley screaming that a man has been killed in the estate’s woods.  A quick investigation puts Wickham on trial, but is he truly capable of murder?

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë

After growing up in a neglectful household and a mismanaged school, Jane Eyre finds employment as a governess at Thornfield Hall.  Though she enjoys the company of her new employer, Edward Rochester, mystery surrounds both him and his house: sinister laughter, a ghostly walker, and violent attacks on both Rochester and his guests.  If you already know and love Jane Eyre, be sure to check out our recommendations for “If You Like Jane Eyre“!

2 thoughts on “If You Like Pride and Prejudice, Then Read…

  1. revgeorge says:

    Sorry to be so late in commenting on this.

    It’s been more than a year or so since I read “For Darkness Shows the Stars”, but I remember it as being very good. I really need to go back & reread it. The appeal of it was also greatly helped by “Persuasion” being one of my favorite Austen novels.

    I haven’t read any of the others on your list, but “Jane Eyre” is of course one of those “I really should read this one of these days” books.🙂


    • Krysta says:

      I enjoyed For Darkness Shows the Stars a lot more than I’d anticipated–it was fun to see a Jane Austen novel in a post-apocalyptic setting. I still need to get my hands on the sequel/companion book.

      I loved Jane Eyre when I first read it, but I have to admit, sometimes I now feel a little “Jane-Eyred” out. It definitely has a lot of fans!


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s