Top Ten Tuesday (76): Books That Will Make You Swoon


Top Ten Tuesdays is a meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish.  This week’s topic is

Top Ten Books That Will Make You Swoon

So, in honor of Valentine’s Day, here are ten of my favorite literary romances.  Enjoy!

1. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott: With at least three different romances, there’s something to please everyone in this book, but I’ve always loved Jo’s story the best.  It’s sweet and unexpected, and I’m so glad that the two developed a solid friendship before they took the next step.

2. Rose in Bloom by Louisa May Alcott: A childhood friendship (from Alcott’s Eight Cousins) turns into something more.  I always root for the awkward, bookish heroes, so this particular romance has always been a favorite of mine.

3. The Scarlet Pimpernel by Baroness Orczy: It’s not often a novel follows the romance of a married couple, but The Scarlet Pimpernel follows Marguerite Blakeney and her husband as they try confront the mistakes they made in the past and try to save their relationship.

4. Emma by Jane Austen: I have to say, I like Emma’s romance even more than I like Elizabeth Bennet’s.  He’s been there in front of your nose the entire time, Emma!  Why don’t you appreciate him more?

5. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen: No list of literary romances would be complete without Elizabeth Bennet and her misunderstood Darcy.

6. Much Ado About Nothing by William Shakespeare: The setting up of Beatrice and Benedick is one of the funniest things I’ve ever seen.  Kenneth Branagh’s movie version is a must-see for any fan.

7. A Tangled Web by L. M. Montgomery: When Aunt Becky dies, she decrees that her coveted heirloom jug will be awarded to a family member after one year.  The family all try to live up to what they think Aunt Becky would want, just in case their behavior decides the winner.  The lives of various characters intersect to form the story, but my favorite plotline follows young Gay Penhallow as she learns about love.

8. Anne of Green Gables by L. M. Montgomery: Anne and Gilbert, the path of love never did run smooth!  Sometimes one has to have a slate broken over their head to know true devotion.

9. Villette by Charlotte Brontë: I actually prefer this novel to Jane Eyre.  It follows Lucy Snowe as she travels to another country to teach at an all-girls’ school and finds an unexpected romance.

10. Henry V by William Shakespeare: The wooing scene is one of the most ridiculous proposals I have ever read.  And I love every moment of it.

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (76): Books That Will Make You Swoon

    • Krysta says:

      Yay! I just reread Much Ado last year (actually, I listened along with the BBC audio version featuring David Tennant–only annoying because the audio edits out bits of passages for time and possibly also to stay more politically correct. It was kind of weird like, “Wait, what? Benedick didn’t just say that?!” 😉 ). I look forward to your review!


  1. jennasthilaire says:

    This IS a great list. I love Little Women! I think Amy and Laurie are my favorite couple, but it’s an awfully close call–I adore all three.

    And The Scarlet Pimpernel’s married romance is ah-so-sweet!… and I love both Austen romances. I went through a stage where I re-read the end of Emma over and over and over again. Persuasion is arguably my favorite Austen love story, but again, it’s such a close call. And Anne of Green Gables!!❤❤ OK, I might as well just say that pretty much everything on your list that I've read is wonderful.

    I should read Villette.


    • Krysta says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed it! I admit Amy and Laurie was always my least favorite of the three romances–sometimes I wonder if Alcott really just wanted to ensure Jo was safe. 😉 But the two really do suit each other and I could envision them together in real life. Meg and Brooke is all the sweeter once you read Little Men, though.

      It was a wrench not to put Persuasion on the list, but I tried my best not to let Austen dominate completely! I’ve been meaning to reread Austen for some time and will probably start with Emma. I never really appreciated her story until I saw the version starring Romola Garai and I haven’t reread Emma since then. It’s a bit tragic, isn’t it?

      The end of Anne of Green Gables is the best, isn’t it? And then you read the sequels and suddenly I at least have no idea what’s going on. I mean, there was heavy foreshadowing there at the end, was there not? Was there not, L. M. Montgomery?! Why would she do that to us?

      I shamelessly promote Villette to all and sundry and thus agree–you should! 😀


    • Krysta says:

      I’ve only seen the 1934 version with Leslie Howard, but I think the 1982 version is what people are usually referring to? I definitely need to watch that one. 😀


  2. Maggie says:

    Ooooh, you have some great ones on here. I had P&P as well as Persuasion, but I could have added Emma as well. Anne of Green Gables is so wonderful.


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

