The 2014 Lord of the Rings Read-along Sign-up Post!

LotR Button

Stephanie from Chasm of Books, Krysta, and I will be hosting a three-month read-along of J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings beginning next month, January 2014!

  • January: Stephanie will be leading discussion on The Fellowship of the Ring at her blog, Chasm of Books.
  • February: Krysta will be leading discussion on The Two Towers here at Pages Unbound.
  • March: I will be leading discussion on The Return of the King here at Pages Unbound.

Each month will feature three discussion posts, a Twitter chat, and a mystery activity.  We will post a more detailed schedule closer to the read-along.  You are invited to read ANY of the books with us–one, two, or all three!

To join the read-along discussion on Twitter, use the hashtag #LOTR2014.

If you would like to sign up, you may do so by clicking the green Mr. Linky graphic below.  The sign-up list will open in a new window. We hope you join us, and please invite your friends!  (Note that sign-ups will continue to be open, even though the read-along has started.  Join us at any time!)

For additional details, including schedules and a master list of all read-along posts, please see the #LOTR2014 page.

10 thoughts on “The 2014 Lord of the Rings Read-along Sign-up Post!

  1. Kaitlin says:

    This read-along is perfect for me! I’ll try to read books two and three for it, but I’ll definitely take part in the discussions of all three. I’m reading the first book now–it’s actually my independent novel for AP Lit right now, and I’ll be turning in an analysis essay of it in February. The discussions and activities may make my assignment a little fun!


    • Krysta says:

      We’re excited to have you! You can participate as little or as much as you like– it certainly seems that the read-along is timed pretty well to coincide with the wrapping up of your paper! It’s pretty cool that you chose The Fellowship of the Ring. I’m always glad to see teachers taking fantasy writing seriously as literature!


    • Briana says:

      We’re so glad you can join us! I’ve been wanted to reread them for awhile, too. Mostly I’ve been pulling them off my shelves and rereading sections, rather than the whole story.


      • samanthatule says:

        Haha right…I think my last attempt I got just out of the Prancing Pony and then got distracted by other things and put them down. I haven’t done a read-along before so I’m pretty excited to start with a series I really care about.


  2. Lianne @ says:

    This read-along sounds like a lot fun! (anything Tolkien immediately gets my attention, lmao) I wish I could formally participate in it but I’m already tackling an equally thick fantasy as part of another read-along but I will try to drop by your posts when I can🙂 Have fun!


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

