If You Like Percy Jackson, Then Read…

If You Like, Then Read is a feature where we offer reading suggestions based on books you already like, scheduled once a month. If you have more suggestions, feel free to tell us in the comments! You can check out the rest of these lists here

if you like

The Ashtown Burials series by N. D. Wilson

In Book 1, The Dragon’s Tooth, Antigone and Cyrus Smith live in a dilapidated hotel with their older brother Daniel.  No one ever checks in, until the night a strange man requests a specific room.  By morning, the man has died, the hotel has burned to the ground, and Daniel has disappeared.  Informed that the only way to save their brother is to join a mysterious order of explorers dedicated to preserving the world’s treasures and imprisoning the world’s monsters, Antigone and Cyrus find themselves racing against time to find the order and swear their loyalty.  Not everyone in the order, however, welcomes the new initiates.  Surrounded by enemies, the two will have to prove their skill and bravery if they want to reunite their family.  The series continues to follow the Smith family as they fight an enemy determined to unleash some of legend’s most fearful monsters upon the world.

Atlantis Rising by T. A. Barron

T. A. Barron explores the roots of Atlantis’s legendary greatness in this book dedicated to celebrating the rise of the island rather than chronicling its fall.  In his version, a thief named Promi joins forces with Atlanta, a girl with natural magic, in order to decipher a prophecy that seems to indicate the end of all magic.  The gods, however, have separated themselves from mortals and no hope seems left for those who would save the land from ruin.  Read my review here.

The Theodosia Throckmorton series by R. L. LaFevers

Eleven-year-old Theodosia Throckmorton practically lives in London’s Museum of Legends and Antiquities where her father works as curator.  Only she, however, can detect the ancient curses that linger on the artifacts her mother brings back from Egypt, and only she knows the rituals that will render the curses innocuous.  Adults may not believe her stories, but she nevertheless devotes her gifts to saving the British Empire.  Read my review of the first book here.

The Goddess Girls series by Joan Holub and Suzanne Williams

This series features the Greek gods as adolescent students attending Mount Olympus Academy.  The first book in the series is Athena the Brain

The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series by Michael Scott

Fifteen-year-old twins Sophie and Josh Newman find themselves embroiled in a centuries-long battle between alchemist Nicholas Flamel and his foe Dr. John Dee.  Flamel and his wife need a book called known as the Codex in order to continue making the elixir of life or they will both die–Dee, however, plans to use the Codex to destroy the world.  The Alchemyst is the first of six books in the series.

2 thoughts on “If You Like Percy Jackson, Then Read…

    • Krysta says:

      I only read the first Percy Jackson, too. While I didn’t like it enough to continue the series, I like the premise, which inspired me to think of other books that also rework mythology!


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s