If You Like Witches, Then Read….

If You Like, Then Read is a feature where we offer reading suggestions based on books you already like, scheduled once a month. If you have more suggestions, feel free to tell us in the comments! You can check out the rest of these lists here

If You Like Witches Then Read

Born Wicked by Jessica Spotswood

Cate’s mother died when she was thirteen, leaving her to raise her two younger sisters and to protect their secret—that all three of them are witches—from their father and the community.  All seems to be going well until Cate finds her mother’s diary.  The pages reveal that she and her sisters might be the subject of a prophecy, and if they are, they are in much more danger than Cate had ever imagined.

Protagonist Cate goes through a lot in this first installment of the Cahill Witch Chronicles, developing from a whiny teen into a mature one with adult responsibilities and a blossoming romance.  She really grows into her role as the protector of her sisters and their powers and works hard to find safety in an alternative American history where witchcraft is common but unwelcome.

Chime by Franny Billingsley

Briony can see the Old Ones that live in the swamp by her house–and so Briony’s stepmother told her she was a witch.  But witches are not welcome in the village, and Briony must work hard to keep her powers secret.

Chime has a unique voice with well-developed plot, romance, and mystery.  A good choice for those seeking a standalone, and a great book to read in contrast with Born Wicked.  Spotswood’s character enjoy and are protective of their magic, while Briony is as suspicious of hers as everyone in her community.  Her struggles bring a new perspective to what it means to be a witch.

The Salem Witch Trials: An Interactive History Adventure by Matt Doeden

In this choose your own adventure type book, readers can elect to experience the Salem Witch Trials as a girl accused of witchcraft, the son of an accused witch, or an accuser of witches.  As readers travel through the selected story line, they are offered various decisions to determine where their story goes next, until they reach one of 15 possible endings.

Zita says this book is a “great launching point” for those interested in learning more about the Salem Witch trials.

The Witches by Roald Dahl

In this classic Dahl book, a young boy has the surprise of his life when he encounters REAL WITCHES.  Things go from bad to worse when he discovers the witches are plotting to eliminate all children.  Now, it is up to the boy and the friends to stop them before it’s too late.

A fresh and quirky take on witches, that’s just the right amount of frightening.

Room on the Broom by Julia Donaldson

In this delightful picture book, a friendly witch offers rides to various animals she encounters as she zooms across the skies.  Will there be room on the broom for all of them? What happens when there isn’t?

Room on the Broom is a fun Halloween read for younger readers, featuring somewhat repetitive language they will be able to follow, and colorful illustrations that add to the adventure.

Check out more witch suggestions on my Riffle list!

7 thoughts on “If You Like Witches, Then Read….

    • Briana says:

      I really enjoyed it once I was able to feel some admiration for Cate! I’m really looking forward to getting my hands on the second book sometime.


  1. bookgeeking says:

    Born witches and Chime look really good. Frost Arch by Kate Bloomfield is also a really good book about magic.


    • Briana says:

      While I was trying to write this post, it occurred to me that I don’t read too many of them either! I would be interested in reading more along the lines of Chime and Born Wicked, which seem to take the subject a little more seriously. Maybe “seriously” is the wrong word, but they have a different feel from books like Harry Potter or “witch school book” where the focus is on, “Ooh, look, magic! Isn’t that cool! I wish I were a witch/wizard, too!”

      I haven’t heard of Charmed, but perhaps I should look into it!


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s