Top Ten Tuesday (64): Books I Would Love to See as a Movie/TV Show


Top Ten Tuesdays is a meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish.  This week’s topic is

Top Ten Books I Would Love to See as a Movie/TV Show (in a Perfect World)

1.  Emily of New Moon by L.M. Montgomery: Technically a TV series already exists, but I would love to see a remake.  Most of the actors simply did not fit my vision and the story line deviated a fair amount from the book.

2. The Dragon’s Tooth by N. D. Wilson: A gripping fantasy adventure set in the American Midwest in which two siblings join an ancient order of explorers dedicated to protecting the world.

3. Gregor the Overlander by Suzanne Collins: The start of fantasy series in which young Gregor explores a secret world hidden under New York City.

4.  Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine: The existing movie is a fun chick flick in its own way, but I want to see Ella Enchanted on the big screen–not some movie that happens to share the same name.

5. The Two Princesses of Bamarre by Gail Carson Levine: Why stop with Ella Enchanted?  This is my favorite book by Levine.  It features a timid protagonist who learns to believe herself as well as a very sweet romance.

6. Tuesdays at the Castle by Jessica Day George: I admit it.  I just want to see the magical castle on the big screen!

7. The Last Battle by C. S. Lewis: I wouldn’t mind the previous Narnia films being remade, but since this one has never had the chance to be a movie at all, I decided to add it especially to my list.  I would love to see so many scenes–the falling of the stars and the awakening of Father Time, for example.

8. Nancy Drew: The recent movie wasn’t all bad, but wouldn’t a 1930s Nancy be fun?

9. The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne M. Valente: This might prove hard as the narrator gives the book a lot of its charm, but movie makers have faced such problems before.

10. Pat of Silver Bush by L. M. Montgomery: My favorite Montgomery book!

19 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (64): Books I Would Love to See as a Movie/TV Show

  1. Brittany says:

    Haha, I agree! I would love to see the REAL Ella Enchanted. I actually saw the movie long before I read the book since I only read it as an adult and I was fuzzy on the details but they seemed nothing alike! Maybe they’ll do another remake of it somewhere down the road!


    • Krysta says:

      As far as I’m concerned, the only similarities between the film and the book are the character names and the existence of Ella’s curse. I hope that one day we do get a remake that captures the fun spirit of the book!


  2. Quinn says:

    Yes, yes, yes to Ella Enchanted. I think the movie is cute, but not really like the book. And oh my gosh, great idea for Tuesdays at the Castle. I want to see the magical Castle Glower, too!!!


    • Krysta says:

      I do like the Ella Enchanted movie–it’s just not Ella Enchanted. The scene where Ella sings is always fun, though! And, yes, we need Castle Glower! One of my favorite things about Harry Potter is seeing the staircases move.


  3. Charlotte says:

    I haven’t heard about some of the books that you mentioned here. But yes to Gregor the Overlander and The Last Battle.

    Gregor the Overlander is definitely one good series. It’s such a shame that it didn’t get THG’s fame. Would you believe that I cried more while reading Gregor than THG?😀

    Thanks for stopping by my blog, Brianna!


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

