If You Like Sarah Dessen, Then Read….

If You Like, Then Read is a feature where we offer reading suggestions based on books you already like, scheduled once a month. If you have more suggestions, feel free to tell us in the comments! You can check out the rest of these lists here

Sarah Dessen Banner

Sarah Dessen is known for her contemporary romances featuring strong girls seeking to overcome personal issues.  If you are looking for readers with a similar vibe, then look no farther!

My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

One of my favorite contemporary romances, this story is brimming with heart.  Jace and Samantha’s relationship grows slowly and naturally, leading to a romance in turns sweet and just a little bit sensual.  Additionally, readers are introduced to Jace’s large family, and his younger brothers and sisters will win readers’ hearts as easily as Jace does (especially George!).  A highly recommended read that offers just the right blend of fun and thought-provoking themes.

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Stephanie Perkins has a knack for writing romances that incorporate cliche fantasies (a love affair in Paris, France!) into wonderfully real characters and books.  Anna, at times kind, funny, or a just a little bitter, faces the tough problem of falling in love with a boy who is already taken.  The solution is hardly clear–to Anna or the boy–but the two and their friends embark on an amazing journey of self-discovery that will have readers cheering for them all the way.

The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith

Smith writes a love story that  takes place in the span of a single day.  When Hadley Sullivan misses her flight to her father’s second wedding, she befriends a cute British boy sitting her row, and their relationship quickly blossoms into something more.

Invisibility by Andrea Cremer and David Levithan

In this romantic fantasy, Manhattan-newcomer Elizabeth discovers she is the only person who can see the cute boy who lives down the hall.  To the rest of the world, Stephen is literally invisible.  With the help of Elizabeth’s younger brother Laurie, the two embark on a quest to cure Stephen’s curse.  Along the way, they learn as much about themselves and each other as they do about the hidden world of magic.  A bold story that tackles all kinds of love–romantic, familial, and frienship.  Review coming to Pages Unbound in September.

If I Stay by Gayle Forman

After a bad car accident, Mia wakes up to find her body in a coma, but her consciousness outside.  For a day, she watches doctors, friends, and family fight for her life, but ultimately realizes that she is the one who makes the real choice whether she stays.  Part of her decision hinges on her relationship with her rock boyfriend Adam, who has a sweetly romantic side

5 thoughts on “If You Like Sarah Dessen, Then Read….

  1. Kami says:

    This is a really fun idea! I have only read 1 Sarah Dessen book, but I liked it. The Statistical Probability of Love at First Site is a great recommendation for those who love contemporary romance!


    • Briana says:

      I’ve only read The Fault in Our Stars, but I also own Looking for Alaska. I can try to read it in time for next month’s If You Like feature.😀 Thanks for the suggestion!


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s