Blogger Interview: Kaitlin from Reading Is My Treasure

THE INTERVIEW

What makes your blog unique?

That is a very good question. A tough one too. Post wise, every Monday, I post first impressions of three books based on their opening paragraph and/or cover. I also have plans in development that I will be implementing into my blog real soon. Other than that, I like to think my certain reading style reflected in my reviews is what makes my blog unique. I’m very open-minded and flexible when it comes to most books. I tend to take a book for what it is, and not judge it for characters’ actions or an ending that I didn’t quite agree with. There aren’t a lot who share that attitude–at least, as far as I have seen. [Visit Reading Is My Treasure!]

What have you just finished reading? What are you currently reading?

I recently finished reading Poison Princess by Kresley Cole. It had an ending to rave about and a hero to rant about. It was so great I had two strong, but different, reactions to the book. Now, I’m on to rereading My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick and Half-Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout. I love them both, but I read them before I got into the habit of reviewing.

What advice do you have for new bloggers?

Two things: be yourself and socialize. Your blog is your very own platform to share your thoughts on, so please don’t hold back from being you. Run your blog the way you want to. As for “socialize,” the blogosphere is full of amazing people. Meet and get to know them. Visit their blogs and invite them to come stop by yours. Discuss books, movies, or whatever else you want with them on the blogs and off them on sites like Goodreads and Twitter. Blogging is fun, but it is way more fun when you are surrounding by people to talk to.

What are your hobbies outside of reading and blogging?

It doesn’t consume nearly as much time and thought as reading and blogging does, but I really like to collect rocks and stones. If there’s a booth at a market or a section in a gift shop selling them, I often find myself stuck there for awhile, poring over the assortment available. Pretty and cool looking rocks fascinate me and I even have a rock polisher to try to smooth and polish a bunch of rocks I got from the beach. Unfortunately, I haven’t done a batch yet. I do intend to, though.

If you were the heroine of a novel, what genre would it be?

Wouldn’t so many girls say something along the lines of paranormal or dystopia? Be that strong heroine that saves the world from falling to pieces? Well, I would rather be in a contemporary book. If I am going to be a strong heroine that others admired, I would want to be in the real world, helping real people and saving the day that way.

What book would you most like to be the cover model for?

It would have to be a book whose cover focused on really looking brown hair. I have very long, straight, brown hair and I would want it to be on display. So maybe Such a Rush by Jennifer Echols or Sweet Venom by Tera Lynn Childs.

What is one thing on your bookish bucket list?

I really want to join an actual book club that meets in real life–one of those where it’s a cozy group of friends meeting up once in awhile to discuss the books we’ve read. I don’t get to share my bookaholic thoughts face-to-face very often, and I’m craving book club type conversations that take place off the internet.

FAVORITES

  • Board Game: Monopoly
  • Dessert: strawberry short cake
  • Movie Based on Book: Forrest Gump (not interested in reading the book, though)
  • Sport: bowling
  • Television Show: currently, it’s  Whodunnit

FIND KAITLIN

brightgreengoodreads     bluebloglovin     brightgreentwitter

3 thoughts on “Blogger Interview: Kaitlin from Reading Is My Treasure

  1. Leigh @ Little Book Star says:

    OMG I love this interview! I TOTALLY, 100% agree on what you said about taking a book as it is. I don’t understand why people would rate books 3 or 2 stars just because the protagonist was “annoying”… umm.. what if she/he was meant to be annoying? People should critique books on how well written it is, not based on the character’s personalities. I also love how you answered the heroine question; it was very well said!

    Leigh
    Little Book Star

    Like

Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

