Blogger Interview: Katie from Doing Dewey

Doing Dewey - Drawer - Original - 465x238

THE INTERVIEW

What makes your blog unique?

Well, I’ll read nearly anything (the only genres I avoid are the polar opposites, erotica and Christian lit) so you’ll get great variety at Doing Dewey. I like to pair fiction with relevant non-fiction, so it’s easy to find some non-fiction that might be interesting to you if it’s not really your thing. And I do a pretty good job letting you know anything that influences my opinion of a book, so you’ll know if you share my tastes in books when reading my reviews. And that’s Doing Dewey. 🙂

What is one of the most interesting things you have learned while blogging?

I’m not quite sure how to answer this question. I often include a fun fact in my non-fiction reviews, the latest being that Mississippi didn’t ratify the 13th Amendment until 1995. In terms of things I’ve learned about blogging, I recently read a great article here that led me to Chrome extensions for finding books at the library or on Goodreads. And although everyone says it, if I were going to give you some blogging advice it would be to find a social media platform that works for you so you can get engaged with the community.

What is your favorite classic novel?

I recently read and loved Anna Karenina. Like many classics, I think it has stayed relevant because of its insights into human nature. I also loved the latest movie adaptation, which was beautifully theatrical.

Do you prefer series, companion books, or complete standalone novels?

I don’t think I have a preference. Sometimes it’s nice to have a really epic standalone novel with an awesome and complete ending. At the same time, if you love a book, it’s great to have the rest of the series to read! I haven’t read any companion books, so don’t have strong feelings about those.

What type of romance do you most enjoy in novels?

Again, I don’t think I have a favorite. Not love at first sight, for sure! I like a well-developed and believable romance, but I don’t think it matters too much where the characters’ relationship starts out.

What fictional character would you most like as a sibling?

Hermione! I looked up to her when I read the Harry Potter books when I was younger and think she would have made a great older sister.

What book’s movie would you most like a role in?

Ooh, good one! I could see myself as Cate in Born Wicked. I’m definitely as bookish as she is and would adore getting to have her magic powers – even if only in a movie.

FAVORITES

  • Beverage: water (boring but true :D)
  • Candy Bar: peppermint patties
  • Sport: floor hockey!
  • Flower: daisies and dandelions. They’re just so happy!
  • Reading Spot: anywhere, anytime

FIND KATIE

brightgreentwitter     brightgreenfacebook     brightgreengoodreads

2 thoughts on “Blogger Interview: Katie from Doing Dewey

Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

