If You Like Unique YA Voices, Then Read….

If You Like, Then Read is a feature where we offer reading suggestions based on books you already like, scheduled once a month. If you have more suggestions, feel free to tell us in the comments! You can check out the rest of these lists here

IYL

Graceling by Kristin Cashore

Katsa is a Graceling, and her Grace is killing.  Her talent has made her the pawn of her king, his personal assassin who must murder at his command.  Then Prince Po arrives, and the two embark on an adventure to end an injustice in another kingdom, and Katsa finally breaks free of her chains.

The writing is lyrical, simple, and original, revealing Katsa’s unique voice.  The book is in third person, but the thoughts are all Katsa’s, the world revealed through her eyes.  Read my review.

OCD, the Dude, and Me by Lauren Roedy Vaughn

High school senior Danielle Levine keeps a secret binder stashed securely under her bed, collecting all the papers that tell her life story–emails, English essays, journal entries, and post cards.  Her writing, no matter the assignment, is always in a fresh conversational style that drives her teachers crazy but will endear her to readers.  Danielle’s binder reveals she is vulnerable, quirky, and real–and also strong enough to withstand anything high school throws at her.  Read my review or interview with the author.

Pure by Julianna Baggott

After the Detonations, the world is split into two–those who were caught in them and now have bits of the world fused to their bodies, and those who were not, the “Pures” who live protected beneath the Dome.  The two groups do not talk, do not know anything about each other.  They tend to hate each other.  Until Pressia and Partridge meet and begin uncovering secrets that reveal everything is more complicated than they though.

Baggott’s prose is lyrically descriptive, filled with beautiful sentences and beautiful imagery.  The world she creates is dark and she tackles it head-on.  The book is focused on issues that will resonate with many children and teens, but does not have a “young” voice or approach to its difficult subject matter.  Baggott assumes her readers are intelligent and prepared to face the issues that Pressia and Partridge do.  Read my review.

Scarlet by A. C. Gaughen

This take on the classic Robin Hood legend is narrated by Scarlet–thief extraordinaire and reluctant member of Robin Hood’s band.   Her atrocious grammar reveals her commoner’s upbringing, but she also exhibits spunk and courage as she faces down the Sheriff of Nottingham and Sir Guy of Gisborne.  Her confidence falters only near a certain man who makes her heart beat too wildly for her liking.  Look for a review during next week’s Reading Robin Hood event!

One thought on “If You Like Unique YA Voices, Then Read….

Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.