Blogger Interview: Stephanie from Chasm of Books

Chasm of Books

THE INTERVIEW

What makes your blog unique?

I’d just like to take a moment and say thank you to Briana and Krysta for letting me visit Pages Unbound today!

Back to the question…. It’s pretty hard to make anything original or unique these days, what with all of the millions of books and blogs out there. I like to believe that the personality I try to inject into my blog posts makes the gushing words unique and different from others. No two opinions are the same and I like to believe that if you deliver your opinion with your own personality, it makes what you have to say unique on some small level. If that makes sense….

What have you just finished reading? What are you currently reading?

The last book I finished was Dualed by Elsie Chapman. Oh man, I loved that book so much! It’s the type of book I love the more I think about it too, so that doesn’t help the fact that I have to wait a whole year for the sequel, Divided.

I am currently reading Falls the Shadow by Melissa Sasina. I’m not very far into it but the whole premise is very interesting. It’s based on Norse mythology (which I don’t know much about) and is supposed to take place after Ragnarok. Midgard is in a bit of a upheaval at the moment. The book seems very promising. I’ll be participating in the blog tour for it on July 8th.

What advice do you have for new bloggers?

>Blog. Blog. Blog. Did I mention blog? Do it every day, especially if you’re just starting out. If you’re a new blog, then people want to know you’re going to consistently produce content. And if they’ve just found you, chances are, if they’re anything like me and they really like you, they’ll check your blog multiple times a day for the first week or so until they get an idea of when to expect a post. Unless I’m the only person who does that…. In which case, blog often anyway.

And don’t forget to promote! Goodreads and Twitter have been some of my best tools since I’ve started. You can blog all you want but if you don’t tell people about it, then they won’t know where to find all your amazing content!

Also, connections!

If you aren’t already following successful book blogs, then you need to. Look at what they do. Don’t steal ideas but watch and learn. Get a feel for how the blogosphere works. Leave comments on their blogs. Follow them. Make friends. Connections are very helpful.

What are your hobbies outside of reading and blogging?

You mean there’s more than that out there? Does Twitter count? Haha.

I love to write books. I haven’t been doing much of that lately what with my blog, reading, and other responsibilities, but it is something I love to do. I’ve written five novels (all unpublished) and have enjoyed the process for each one. So far, there’s only been one I wrote knowing I might just trash it all. It was an experiment okay?

I also play piano. It’s just a fun past time for me. My favorite piano music to play is from Pride & Prejudice. Gosh that music is so pretty.

If you were the heroine of a novel, what genre book would it be?

Oh, that’s a tough one! I’m going to say fantasy but I probably wouldn’t be anyone special, just a peasant of some kind–hopefully one with a sweet accent.

What book would you most like to be the cover model for?

I’ve never thought of this before now. And I thought the last question was tough…. Divided by Elsie Chapman, I suppose. Dualed was just so good, people. If I were on Divided, it would be so cool!

What is one thing on your bookish bucket list?

I would love to go to BEA. In fact, I’m hoping to go next year. We’ll see what happens, but I think that would be amazing.

Favorites

  • Board Game: Clue. Monopoly and Risk are both too long and painful to enjoy. I mean, yeah, you can basically kill yourself off at any time in those games but you also want to win so most people don’t, even though they want to. Clue is just the right length. There’s no arguing and it’s a lot of fun to interact with everyone.
  • Dessert: Desserts and junk food in general are one of my weaknesses. My favorite dessert is probably…chocolate ice cream. It combines two of my favorite sweets; chocolate and ice cream. What more could a girl want?
  • Movie Based on a Book: I’ll have to go with Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. I love seeing all of the magic come to life for the first time. I mean, I love all of the other movies (except maybe The Half-Blood Prince) but for the purposes of this question I’ll go with the first. Besides, who doesn’t love the Ollivander’s scene?
  • Sport: I don’t do sports but I do like swimming, so I’ll go with that.
  • Television Show: There are just so many! I guess I’ll have to say either Falling Skies or Parenthood. *sigh* They’re just so good.

FIND STEPHANIE

brightgreentwitter     brightgreengoodreads

2 thoughts on “Blogger Interview: Stephanie from Chasm of Books

Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

