Blogger Interview: Debz from Debz Bookshelf

Debz

THE INTERVIEW

What inspired you to start blogging?

It started after my personal blog was overflowing with book-related stuff. I wanted a place to store all my bookish thoughts, and so I started another blog! What inspired me to keep blogging was the community!

Who is your favorite author and why?  

Shannon Hale! Her books had a powerful effect on my early teen years, and they continue to stick with me. And beyond her amazing books, she’s an incredible person. I would love to be half the woman she is one day.

If you could live in a fictional setting, which would you choose?

Castle Glower of Tuesdays at the Castle by Jessica Day George (I know you haven’t read it, Briana! You really need to!) It’s like Hogwarts, only much crazier. There are new rooms frequently popping up that just need to be explored. And it has an attitude. As long as I don’t upset it, I think the Castle and I could get along quite nicely.

What characters do you wish you could be friends with?

Ana and Sam from Incarnate by Jodi Meadows. Even though Ana bugged me a bit in Incarnate, I think she and I would get along really well. We have a lot of common ground, not the least of which is that we both love Sam. We’d probably spend most of our time together playing music or chatting about books.

What is your favorite bookish memory?

Much of my childhood bookish memories revolve around Harry Potter. Being introduced to the books at age 5, long car rides of listening to the audiobooks, meeting Jim Dale (the narrator), going to midnight release parties of books 6 & 7, seeing Platform 9 ¾ in London—the list could go on and on.

Have you always enjoyed reading?

I think so. Definitely as a young child and as a teen, but not so much as a “tween.” I think what stopped me at that age is that I’ve never liked trying new things, so I mostly just reread books. I still enjoyed it, but I didn’t seek out anything new. Luckily I soon got out of my comfort zone and discovered a whole new world of books waiting for me!

What is your favorite book-to-film adaptation?

I think the early Harry Potter films are great adaptations, but beyond that I really like The Hunger Games, Les Miserables (both the 1998 and 2012 versions), everything Disney’s done, and… Percy Jackson *ducks to avoid being strangled by angry fans*

FAVORITES

  • Board Game: Clue
  • Dessert: Turtle Cheesecake
  • Movie Based on Book: Well, one whose book I have yet to read is The Princess Bride
  • Sport: How ‘bout read-a-thoning? That’s a competitive sport…kinda. I just don’t like sports.
  • Television Show: Once Upon a Time

FIND DEBZ

brightgreentwitter     brightgreenfacebook     brightgreenpinterest     brightgreentumblr     brightgreengoodreads

Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

