Blogger Interview: Allison from The Book Wheel

The Book Wheel Button

THE INTERVIEW

What makes your blog unique?

My blog has a very odd mix of genres. My two most popular are literary fiction and political non-fiction, which have nothing to do with each other. I love literary fiction for fun, but I have a background in Political Science, so I really enjoy reading political books. I’m different in that I don’t push a political agenda with my reviews – I just like to spread the word of a good book that might teach someone something!

What have you just finished reading? What are you currently reading?

I just finished The Secret of the Nightingale Palace by Dana Sachs, which I loved. I rarely give 5-star reviews, but this one made the cut. I’m currently reading The Forgotten Presidents: Their Untold Constitutional Legacy by Michael J. Gerhardt, an ARC that I requested from NetGalley.

What advice do you have for new bloggers?

Don’t expect it to be a moneymaker! I had these grand ideas of signing up as an affiliate and that the cash would start rolling in, but I was wrong. Blogging is something you have to do because you want to and you love it. It’s rare for someone to make a living from it.

What are your hobbies outside of reading and blogging?

There’s life outside of reading and blogging?! I work full-time and am starting graduate school in the Fall, so reading and blogging may be the only hobbies I will have time for, but I enjoy spending time with my husband and our two dogs. We live in the Denver area, so we love getting in the car and driving randomly into the mountains to see what we find.

If you were the heroine of a novel, what genre book would it be?

Political non-fiction. I’m going to grad school for Public Policy and would love to enact a policy with large-scale implications. I should point out that this book would also be written by Hillary Clinton.

What book would you most like to be the cover model for?

Eeek! I don’t know that I’d want to be on the cover of any book! Although, referring back to the question before this, I suppose I’d be okay with being on the cover of my own book, if I did indeed star as the heroine of a non-fiction bestseller.

What is one thing on your bookish bucket list?

This is a funny question because another blogger and I searched the web wide and far for a bookish bucket list that wasn’t just for books and found nothing, so we started our own. Some of the things I have on there are to have a wall of bookshelves with a ladder, have books with my stamp in 10+ countries, and attend the BEA. Here’s the link: http://thebookwheelblog.com/50bookishthings/

FAVORITES

  • Board Game: Hungry, Hungry Hippos
  • Dessert: Tiramisu
  • Movie Based on Book: Anne of Green Gables (the Megan Follows one)
  • Sport: SEC Football (Go Gators!)
  • Television Show: Law & Order (original or SVU – not CI)

FIND ALLISONAllison from The Book Wheel

  brightgreentwitter   brightgreenfacebook     brightgreenpinterest     brightgreengoodreads

9 thoughts on “Blogger Interview: Allison from The Book Wheel

  1. Isi says:

    Pleased to know more about you, Allison!! A great interview!
    I’m laughing at the thing about making monew with the blog, this is absolutely not the way of making money!!
    And tiramisú… remind me to send you the best tiramisú recipe ever!!

    Like

  2. Jennifer says:

    Great interview Allison 🙂 I never had Hungry, Hungry Hippo when I was kid. I felt so bereft! I bought one for my kids and I regretted it almost immediately. LOL, it’s SO LOUD!

    Like

Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

