If You Like Faeries, Then Read….

If You Like, Then Read is a feature where we offer reading suggestions based on books you already like, scheduled once a month. If you have more suggestions, feel free to tell us in the comments! You can check out the rest of these lists here

IYL

AnneToday’s “If You Like, Then Read” is a special guest post from Anne from Creativity’s Corner. Anne founded her blog in 2010 in order to promote discussion about books and is hosting the 2013 Book Bingo Challenge.  She currently works as a Cataloger for her local University Libraries.

Faerie Wars by Herbie Brennan (MG/YA)

When Henry Atherton’s life is falling apart around him, he takes refuge by helping to clean at Mr. Fogarty’s next door. But instead of the cranky old man he’s expecting, he finds a new friend: Pyrgus Malvae, crown prince of the faeries. Pyrgus’s world is full of faeries, demons, and danger – and he needs Henry’s help if he’s going to defeat the Faeries of the Night. (I’ll be co-hosting a read-a-thon for this series in the near future on my own blog Creativity’s Corner and we’d love for you to join us)

Wicked Lovely by Marissa Marr (YA)

Aislinn has always been able to see faeries for what they are, but has made a point of pretending she doesn’t – you don’t want to attract their attention, no matter what. Except, suddenly her rules for dealing with faeries aren’t working, and the Summer King of faeries is determined to have her for himself.

The Doubled Edge and Bedlam’s Bard series’ by Mercedes Lackey (Adult)

In the Doubled Edge series, the fae have seen two possible futures: one with an evil queen who will do everything in her power to cause pain, and one with a benevolent queen whose reign will be known as a golden age. The Seleighe Sidhe must go to war, if they want to save their queen, little Elizabeth Tudor, so she may someday become queen.

The Bedlam’s Bard shares a few characters with the Doubled Edge series (fae are incredibly long lived!) but is set several hundred years later. Eric Banyon, a traveling Renaissance Faire musician, accidentally wakes one of the noble fae who tells him that he is actually a bard – a musician mage – and enlists his help in a war against the Unseleighe Sidhe.

Once Upon a Winter’s Night by Dennis McKiernan (Adult)

A very loose retelling of East of the Sun, West of the Moon. A young woman marries a mysterious prince, only to have him turn out to be someone very different than she thought.

Stardust by Neil Gaiman (Adult)

If you’ve seen the movie, forget all that before reading the book – though the spirit stays the same, the majority of the novel is very different. A young half-fairy boy goes on a quest to retrieve a fallen star and gets much more than he bargained for.

 

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “If You Like Faeries, Then Read….

Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s