If You Like Pirates, Then Read….

If You Like, Then Read is a feature where we offer reading suggestions based on books you already like, scheduled once a month. If you have more suggestions, feel free to tell us in the comments! You can check out the rest of these lists here

if you like

The Princess Bride by William Goldman

Buttercup, the most beautiful woman in the world, is about to marry the most handsome prince–unless the Dread Pirate Roberts can stop them.  Goldman tells the story with only the “good parts.”

Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson

A classic English novel about a young boy who finds a treasure map and his subsequent adventures with a band of pirates.

Magic Marks the Spot by Caroline Carlson

Hilary Westfield would rather be at sea than studying at finishing school, so, naturally, she runs away to answer an advertisement seeking for pirate crew. A middle grade adventure from Harper Collins. The book will be released in September 2013.

Pirates! by Celia Rees

Displeased with life on a Jamaican plantation, Nancy Kington runs away with a servant girl to join a band of pirates in the hopes of finding individuality and freedom.  A young adult novel from Bloomsbury.

Pirateology: The Pirate Hunter’s Companion by Dugald A. Steer

All the information about pirates you could ever want in one beautifully bound book.  It features maps, charts, a hidden treasure map, pirate letters, treasure, and more.  Part of the ‘Ology series from Candlewick.

The Gingerbread Pirates by Kristin Kladstrup

This charmingly illustrated picture book features the daring Captain Cookie as he sets off on a quest to save the other gingerbread men from being eaten by Santa Clause on Christmas Eve.  Published by Candlewick.

6 thoughts on “If You Like Pirates, Then Read….

    • Krysta says:

      Oh,that looks fun! The page doesn’t seem to have a summary, but if there’s a cat involved, I’ll read it! 😀


      • jubilare says:

        Think official Elizabethan piracy + cats + beautiful illustrations + lilting verse, and you have it in a nutshell. It’s a crying shame that it is out of print, but perhaps it is “too violent” for most parents. If I ever have nieces, nephews or children of my own, though, this will be read to them!

        “Ahoy! The old Alcestis,
        The Spaniards’ bane and death,
        That sails the thirteenth parallel
        Before the trade winds’ breath.
        And here’s an English cat, by heck!
        To serve, unmoved, through fire and wreck,
        To climb the yards and swab the deck
        For Queen Elizabeth!”


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s