Movie Review: The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey

The Hobbit Unexpected Journey

Initial Impressions

No Spoilers

  • Martin Freeman is wonderful as Bilbo and remarkably expressive.
  • Gollum is both cute and frightening.
  • Richard Armitage is an imposing, heroic, and rather handsome Thorin.
  • Most of the dwarves do successfully build their own personalities.  A few may get more time in later films.
  • Quotes from the novel are successfully incorporated.
  • There are lots of great nods to The Lord of the Rings movies.
  • There is enough background given for viewers who have not read the book.
  • The film is gorgeous.  (Though there were a few beginning scenes where I found it hard to find something in focus to look at.)
  • The score is impressive.
  • Minor changes made sense.  A few major changes made less sense, but I can live with them.
  • The movie is the perfect mix of comical and epic.  It retains the spirit of the novel, while matching the tone of The Lord of the Rings movies.
  • I am impressed.


12 thoughts on “Movie Review: The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey

  1. Krysta says:

    I am so excited to see this!!! I was so close to going twice! Ah well. Thanks for this–it helped me pass the time while I wait. Good to know you enjoyed it. I was really worried about the material Jackson added. And, to clarify, you saw it in 2D?


    • Briana says:

      There were only two major changes that bothered me, mainly because parts of them aren’t really in keeping with the rules of Middle Earth. But they’re less horrendous than the changes to Faramir, for example, so I will get over them.

      Yes, 2D! I can’t really think what seeing this in 3D would add to it.


    • Krysta says:

      I was wondering about the 48 fps vs. the 24 fps, that’s all. But since you saw it in 2D, I can’t ask. 😀


      • Krysta says:

        My understanding is that it is only the 3D version, but you can still choose between the two formats even in 3D. Plus some theatres don’t have the capability to show 48 fps yet.


  2. Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews says:

    Glad to hear you enjoyed the film. I really want to go and see it, so hopefully I’ll be able to drag a friend along.🙂


    • Briana says:

      There were a few things I found odd about that scene.

      The friend who went with me concluded, “I have no idea what happened in that movie, but I was riveted!” In the sense that she thought it wasn’t as action-oriented as The Lord of the Rings, not that she was confused.😉

      And I agree. I was worried because a lot of the early reviews said it was too long, but I liked nearly every minute. I will be more than happy to watch six more hours!


      • jubilare says:

        I avoided reviews (even this one!) like a plague before going to see it. I don’t mind reviews and spoilers in most cases, but I wanted to form my own opinion without influence, this time.🙂
        It was certainly riveting, though. And I desperately want that soundtrack!


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

