If You Like Time Travel, Then Read….

If You Like, Then Read is a feature where we offer reading suggestions based on books you already like, scheduled once a month. If you have more suggestions, feel free to tell us in the comments! You can check out the rest of these lists here.  

If You Like Time Travel Then Read

When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead

Sixth-grader Miranda lives in New York City, poor but happy with her mother.  Suddenly, however, her best friend Sal seems withdrawn, the emergency spare key to her apartment disappears, and she begins receiving mysterious letters.  Increasingly Miranda believes the letter writer knows the future and wants her to prevent a tragic death–but she may already be too late.  The 2010 Newbery Medal winner.

Waterfall by Lisa Bergren

In this first book in the River of Time series, modern teenager Gabi Betarrini finds herself suddenly catapulted back in time to medieval Italy.  She finds the constricted role of women insulting and stifling and everyday life absurdly dangerous, but a hot Italian knight plays a huge role in convincing her the era might not be so bad after all.  Read Zita’s review.

A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court by Mark Twain

Twain’s 1889 novel follows the adventures of a nineteenth-century American engineer as he travels back to sixth-century England.  He utilizes his modern knowledge to convince the people of the Middle Ages that he possesses magical powers.  Though comedic in nature, the book also serves as a critical social satire addressing many of the problems of Twain’s day.

The Emerald Atlas by John Stephens

Kate, Michael, and Emma have grown up in a series of orphanages.  When they are transferred to the mysterious orphanage at Cambridge Falls, they discover a magical book that transports them back in time to a struggle between the local people and an evil witch.  At first the three only want to return home, but they soon realize the fate of the children of Cambridge Falls rests in their hands.  The first of the Books of Beginnings.  Followed by The Fire Chronicle.  Read Krysta’s review.

Time Between Us by Tamara Ireland Stone

This debut novel follows the romance of Anna, who lives in 1995 Chicago, and Bennett, who lives in 2012 San Francisco, as they attempt to battle time and space to continue their relationship.  The time travel sounds unique in that Anna and Bennett live only less than two decades apart and could actually have the opportunity to meet each other within their own timelines.  Check out Brittany’s review at The Book Addict’s Guide.


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s