Top Ten Tuesday (41): Most Anticipated Books for 2013

TTT stars

Top Ten Tuesdays is a meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish.  This week’s topic is:

Most Anticipated Books for 2013

1. The Fall of Arthur by J. R. R. Tolkien: A verse retelling of Arthur’s final days, edited by Christopher Tolkien.  Read the publisher’s description. Release date May 23.

2. Rapunzel Let Down by Regina Doman: A retold fairy tale set in the modern-day world, the book promises to adhere more rigidly to the original story as it features an out-of-wedlock pregnancy.  Read Doman’s description of the book.  Projected release Easter 2013.

3. Rump: The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin by Liesl Shurtliff: Rump’s ability to turn straw into gold places him under the power of a curse that can only be broken by the discovery of his true name.  Release date April 9.

4. Story’s End by Marissa Burt: The sequel to Storybound.  Release date April 2.

5. Wednesdays in the Tower by Jessica Day George: The sequel to Tuesdays in the Castle follows Celie and her brother Rolf as they care for a mysterious egg.  May 2013.

27 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (41): Most Anticipated Books for 2013

  1. marissa says:

    That Rapunzel one sounds super interesting I’ll have to add it to my goodreads! I’m kind of loving all the fairy tale retellings lately

    here’s my my Top 10


  2. Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews says:

    I definitely like the sound of Rapunzel Let Down.

    The Fall of Arthur sounds interesting.

    Great picks!🙂


    • Krysta says:

      Doman’s books always manage to work in some thought-provoking aspects. I had no idea she was working on another Fairy Tale Novel and so was extra excited to read the announcement!


      • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews says:

        I’ve never heard of her actually, so I should probably look out for something from her. Any recommendations? I can imagine you were. Fairy tales seem to be very popular this year!🙂


      • Krysta says:

        I read her Fairy Tale Novels. The first one is The Shadow of the Bear, which is a retelling of “Snow White and Rose Red.” It’s followed by Black as Night and Waking Rose (“Snow White” and “Sleeping Beauty”). The fourth and fifth books are stand-alones, though they feature characters from the original trilogy. I think this one is completely separate, except for a cameo appearance from one of the original characters. One thing I like about her characters is that they age, so you can follow them from high school into college and beyond. I get tired about reading about sixteen-year-olds in YA all the time because I can’t always relate.

        Anyway, my favorite from the list above might be “Waking Rose,” but since that’s part of a trilogy, you might want to try the fourth one, “The Midnight Dancers.” It’s a retelling of “The Twelve Dancing Princesses” that focuses on a large family of girls who sneak out of their house each night. There’s some religious tension between the family and the hero, which is something I’ve never really seen dealt with before. Not that they’re hateful, but they’re not really informed about each other’s beliefs.


    • Krysta says:

      I love retold fairy tales! It looks like you have some more on your list. I’ll have to explore further when I have more time. Thanks for sharing your link!


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

