If You Like Retellings of “Snow White”

If You Like, Then Read is a feature where we offer reading suggestions based on books you already like, scheduled once a month. If you have more suggestions, feel free to tell us in the comments! You can check out the rest of these lists here.

Snow White Banner

Fairest by Gail Carson Levine

In this companion book to Ella Enchanted, Aza has a beautiful voice, but certainly not the most beautiful face in the land.  Will magic be able to make her pretty and help her win the princes of her dreams?  Read Krysta’s review.

Snow: A Retelling of Snow White and the Seven Dwarves by Tracy Lynn

A more modern interpretation in which Jessica/Snow flees to the “jungle” of London when she realizes her stepmother hates her–and unexpectedly finds a strong group of friends.

8: The Previously Untold Story of the Previously Unknown Eighth Dwarf by Michael Mullin

A creative verse retelling that introduces readers to the unknown eighth dwarf Creepy.  The other dwarves have locked Creepy in the basement, but it may be up to him to finally save Snow White. See Krysta’s review.

Snow in Summer by Jane Yolen

Yolen updates the story and sets it in a modern Appalachia.  The retelling is unique in its focus on the father and stepmother. Read my review.

Nameless by Lili St. Crow

The first in the Tales of Beauty and Madness series comes out April 2013.  The book tells the story of Cami, a human girl who cannot remember her past, who was adopted by the Family when they found her trembling on the streets as a child.  Now a teenager, Cami is beginning to discover more of her own story.  But will discovering her identify convince her she belongs someone other than with the Family who raised her?  See my review of this wildly gripping retelling.

Black as Night by Regina Doman

An exciting retelling set in the South Bronx.  Blanche has run away from home and is hiding from someone who means her harm.  She finds refuge with seven friars who help unravel a deadly plot.


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s