If You Like Jane Eyre, Then Read….

If You Like, Then Read is a feature where we offer reading suggestions based on books you already like.  This week we are showcasing Charlotte Bronte’s classic novel Jane EyreTo read other “If You Like, Then Read” posts, click here.  To find out what Charlotte Brontë heroine you are most like, click here.



Villette by Charlotte Brontë

Lucy Snowe goes to teach at an all-girls boarding school after a family tragedy. There she encounters romance from unexpected quarters and a mysterious ghostly nun.  Enjoy all the elements of love, Gothic influence, and psychology you found in Jane Eyre, in what is argued by many critics to be Brontë’s best work.  (And if you like Villette, you can always go on to read The Professor, which features a male protagonist in similar circumstances!)

Camille by Alexandre Dumas fils

This classic features another woman who believes she may never find love. If you liked Jane Eyre for the romance, you will enjoy this story of two lovers fighting to be together against their own doubts and the expectations of their society. Dumas writes a beautiful tale that explores what it means to be human and to truly love.  Read Briana’s review here.

Jenna Starborn by Sharon Shinn

Grown from embryonic tissue and then rejected by the woman who ordered her production, Jenna grows up lonely but receives a fine scientific education.  She finds work as a technician on the distant planet of Fieldstar and falls in love there with the enigmatic Everett Ravenbeck.  Ravenbeck, however, hides a secret that will destroy their future happiness.  A science-fiction retelling of Jane Eyre.

A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

For almost eighteen years the Doctor of Beauvais suffered in the Bastille, innocent of any crime.  When at last released and reunited with his daughter Lucie, he has lost both his identity and any remembrance of those who imprisoned him.  The two turn to England as a place where they may be able to build a new life, but the outbreak of the French Revolution threatens to destroy everything they have gained.  Consider reading it in honor of the bicentenary of Dickens’s birth!

Agnes Grey by Anne Brontë

The first of two novels written by Charlotte’s sister Anne, Agnes Grey follows a young woman as she faces the hardships of the life of a governess, often isolated and little respected.  Though inevitably compared to Jane Eyre, the book lacks the Gothic elements of that novel and takes a more realistic look at the women dedicated to teaching unruly children not only book knowledge but also values.  A pleasant romance completes the work.

Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys

Antoinette Cosway grew up on a plantation in the West Indies, but is given in marriage to an Englishman who takes her away from her home and ultimately grows to distrust her.  The book shifts between Antoinette’s perspective and that of her husband as a restrictive and prejudiced society drives her to madness.  This 1966 novel responds to Jane Eyre by reimagining Bertha Mason, “the mad woman in the attic,” as a fully-fleshed character with a story of her own.

The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde

In a parallel universe, the England of 1985 is essentially a police state, the Crimean War has dragged on for 130 years, and time travel and cloning have become common.  Technology furthermore enables people to travel within books, but the country’s third most wanted criminal has begun to use this power to change some of the world’s most famous literature. Special Operative Thursday Next is on the case as she seeks to prevent Hades from changing the story of Jane Eyre forever.

Jane Eyre’s Daughter by Elizabeth Newark

In this sequel to Jane Eyre, Newark imagines the life of the Rochesters’ daughter Janet at boarding school.  Why does the mysterious Highcrest Manor have a locked wing?  And which of two men should she give her heart?

Adele, Grace, and Celene: The Other Women of Jane Eyre by Claire Moise

Claire Moise’s sequel imagines Rochester’s ward Adele discovering a cache of letters from Grace Poole to her mother Celene.  In them, Grace recounts the events of Jane Eyre to Rochester’s former mistress.

Always Emily by Michaela MacColl

Emily and Charlotte Bronte dream of becoming writers, but for now a series of local robberies and a neighbor’s death has caught their attention.  Can two teenage girls solve the mystery?

What books would you recommend to readers who enjoyed Jane Eyre?

4 thoughts on “If You Like Jane Eyre, Then Read….

  1. Bookish Hobbit says:

    I’ve been planning on reading most of these books you’ve listed at some point. (Why can’t we get through as many books as we’d like, hehe?!) I tried A Tale of Two Cities some time ago and found it kind of boring, but perhaps I was too hasty and I’ve been thinking that maybe I was trying to read it in the wrong mood. Although it was one of those classics that came with my e-reader, so I have it if I feel ready to try it again.

    Thank you for having this feature!


    • Krysta says:

      I think A Tale of Two Cities can be difficult to get through in the sense that, during your first read, it seems like Dickens is juggling all these unconnected stories and you don’t have a full sense of where he’s trying to go with them. You only really appreciate it once you finish it. But you’re not going to finish it if you don’t appreciate it. So Dickens sort of created a conundrum for his readers. 😀 That being said, I absolutely love A Tale of Two Cities; it’s one of my favorite books.


  2. Sarah says:

    Jane Eyre is one of my all-time favorite books, so I simply had to check out this post. And what do you know, I’ve actually read most of these! Tale of Two Cities is also one of my TOP TOP favorites. I definitely did not appreciate it in full when I was forced to read it during high school. A few years ago I gave it another go and fell in love. It is most certainly one of those books that requires multiple readings, as there are layers upon layers of plot and character twists. I read it remembering a few key tropes from my high school studies and kept doing that excited finger pointing at the text when I realized something that I missed entirely the first time is actually incredibly significant. I can’t wait to read it again!


    • Krysta says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed the list–we certainly enjoyed making it! And A Tale of Two Cities is fabulous! It’s great to find another fan! I wasn’t able to see the musical when it came out, but I think there’s a concert version on DVD, so I hope to be able to see it one day.


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s