If You Like Stories about Thieves, Then Read….

If You Like, Then Read is a feature where we offer reading suggestions based on books you already like. This is the second week we are running it, and we plan to schedule it once a month. If you have more suggestions, let us know  in the comments!  Update:  To Read all the If You Like, Then Read…. posts, click here.

If You Like Thieves Then Read

The Song of the Lioness Quartet by Tamora Pierce

George Cooper is a master thief, the leader of a whole ring of criminals, whose headquarters is The Dancing Dove.  He’s experienced, but not completely hardened, which makes him the perfect love interest for protagonist Alanna, a girl who had disguised herself as a boy in order to train for knighthood.  Books include: Alanna: The First Adventure, In the Hand of the Goddess, The Woman Who Rides Like a Man, and Lioness Rampant.

The Amaranth Enchantment by Julie Berry

This book has all the staples of a proper fairytale, such as magic and royalty, so of course there is also a scruffy little thief who might just happen to be handsome and mysterious, if a bit obnoxious.  The heroine, under his somewhat begrudging instruction, gets to try some pick pocketing of her own for a good cause. Read Krysta’s review here.

City of Thieves by David Benioff

This is an adult book set in Russia during World War II.  People are starving, and there are a lot of thieves.  The protagonists don’t necessarily want to steal anything besides a few things they need to survive, but they have been sent on a mission: find some eggs for a general’s daughter’s wedding cake, or go to prison.  The problem?  Only the enemy seems to have eggs. Read my review here.

The Shakespeare Stealer by Gary Blackwood

A middle grade book about a boy who is sent to the Globe to pretend he is an actor and steal one of Shakespeare’s manuscripts.  At first he does not fit in, with his country haircut and lack of skills, but after some time he discovers he may fit in a little too well. The first in the Shakespeare Stealer series.  Followed by Shakespeare’s Scribe and Shakespeare’s Spy.

Robin Hood by Howard Pyle

This is a classic about which little needs to be said.  Robin of Locksley is an ideal, romantic thief who steals from the rich and then gives to the poor, fighting against the injustice of the government.  No one can blame him for all the feasting, fighting, and drinking of ale that he and his men enjoy in their spare time.  Don’t read this one if you are hungry.  If you’re interested in Robin Hood, you can check out all the posts from our Robin Hood Event.

Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s