Top Ten Tuesday (11): Authors I Wish Would Write Another Book

TTT stars

Top Ten Tuesdays is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s list:

Top Ten Authors I Wish Would Write Another Book

1.  J. R. R. Tolkien: All Tolkien lovers know that the main problem with The Lord of the Rings is that it is much too short.  I would love another volume.  Or another book like The Children of Hurin that elaborates on a tale from The Silmarillion.  Or just a complete Silmarillion.

2. L. M. Montgomery: Montgomery was a very prolific writer who gave us a number of memorable characters, but I would love to read another series by her any day.

3. Chaim Potok: His books are heartfelt, thought-provoking, and moving.  There are just too few of them.

4. Harper Lee: It might be hard to follow To Kill a Mockingbird, but I think anyone would appreciate the effort.

5. Charlotte Bronte: She’s my favorite Bronte sister.  Even though there are still books of hers I haven’t read, such as Shirley, adding another one to my TBR pile would be wonderful.

6. Alexandre Dumas:  No one writes adventures and political intrigue like Dumas.

7. Merrie Haskell: The Princess Curse completely left itself open for a sequel that readers would devour.

8. Trenton Lee Stewart: I think the adventures of the Mysterious Benedict Society are rightly over, but there must be tons of other stories reader to leap from Stewart’s imagination.

9. Gail Carson Levine: I have loved her books since I read Ella EnchantedA Tale of Two Castles needs a sequel.

10. Robin McKinley:  Her books can be hit or miss, so I would love her to write another one, in case it’s a winner.

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (11): Authors I Wish Would Write Another Book

    • Briana says:

      I know! And it seems even shorter separated into volumes. The Return of the King in particular only looks sizable because of all the appendices.


  1. bookzilla says:

    What an awesome list! Lee and McKinley for sure; I loved Dumas’ Count of Monte Cristo, and have The Three Musketeers on my TBR list for this month. Can’t wait to read more!

    Tolkien was hit and miss for me. I hated The Lord of the Rings (couldn’t get halfway through the first book), but I enjoyed The Hobbit and adored The Silmarillion. No accounting for taste, eh?😉


    • Briana says:

      Wow. I have never heard someone say they disliked LOTR but enjoyed The Silmarillion! Usually everyone bashes The Silmarillion! You might like The Children of Hurin, then, since it’s just one of the stories from The Silmarillion expanded.


  2. Sarah says:

    Thanks for visiting my site. Great list. Chaim Potok is definitely an author I’d like more of, though I have a couple of his existing books left to read.


  3. The Drifting Bookworm. says:

    … I am so glad you listed McKinley. She is a GODDESS. Her book, The Hero and the Crown, is what got me interesting in reading in the first place. She writes amazingly. I hope she comes out with another book, too! Another thousand would be great!😀


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

