If You Like Retellings of Cinderella, Then Read….

If You Like, Then Read is a feature where we offer reading suggestions based on books you already like.  This is the first week we are running it, and we plan to schedule it once a month.  If you have more suggestions, feel free to tell us in the comments!

Update: If You Like, Then Read…. is now a successful feature on the blog. If you’d like to read all the posts, click here.

If You Like Cinderella Then Read

Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine

Featuring a girl who has been “blessed” with the gift of obedience, this is the classic retelling of “Cinderella.”  Readers will fall in love with the spunky Ella as she matches her wits against her stepsisters and the fairy who gave her her gift.  Prince Char also makes this a great read for those who appreciate sweet romances. Read Krysta’s review here.

Just Ella by Margaret Peterson Haddix

A somewhat gritty retelling filled with action in addition to pretty gowns and romance.  Ella wins Prince Charming’s marriage proposal, but then discovers becoming a princess might not be what she wants.  She might prefer to be just Ella, but will the royals let her leave?

Princess of Glass by Jessica Day George

A companion book to Princess of the Midnight Ball, this reads as a mixture of fantasy, romance, and mystery.  The protagonist Princess Poppy is not the Cinderella figure, but, rather, the one who takes it upon herself to discover where a serving girl has suddenly been acquiring fancy new clothes.  Fun and original.

Before Midnight by Cameron Dokey

Part of the “Once Upon a Time” series published by Simon Pulse.  It is not the most imaginative work in the series or even the best of Dokey’s own contributions, but it is nonetheless a delightfully fun read for anyone who loves retellings.

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

A science fiction/dystopian retelling that will be released January 2012.  Here, Cinder is a cyborg in New Beijing.  I think this promises to be a unique contribution to the line of retellings, and the fact that it is the first in a series suggests that the story will explore deeper into the lives of the characters than the original tale.  Update: Read Briana’s review here.

4 thoughts on “If You Like Retellings of Cinderella, Then Read….

  1. Sara (of the Page Sage) says:

    I love Ella Enchanted and Just Ella and I am SO excited for Cinder! (Another great Cinderella read is Cindy Ella by Robin Palmer.🙂

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! Inheritance is AMAZING (best book in the series, in my opinion) and even though I was in the same boat you are (not being able to remember much from the previous books), the summary in the beginning brought it all back. As for Murtagh, yes, he is in it and A LOT. The scenes with him are awesome, that’s all I’m gonna say. (: If you don’t want to buy it, there’s always the library. You may just have to wait a bit because of the hold list.


    • Briana says:

      I’ve never heard of Cindy Ella. I’ll have to check it out. I’m a huge fan of fairytale retellings! I also recently received Cinder and Ella by Melissa Lemon, but I haven’t read it yet so I can’t make much of a recommendation.

      I was hoping there would be a recap. Or that Wikipedia would come to my rescue! I’m thinking of waiting until it’s free at the library, except I own the first three in hardcover and it seems so sad to leave the series incomplete. I definitely need to read it if Murtagh is back, though!


  2. michelle@Book briefs says:

    I love this post! Ella Enchanted is one of my favorite childhood books. I will have to check out the other ones!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog


    • Briana says:

      Ella Enchanted was probably the first fairytale retelling I read, and Gail Carson Levine is still one of my favorite authors writing them. I was so excited when she released A Tale of Two Castles; it’s closer to the spirit of Ella Enchanted than many of the books she’s written recently.


Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s