Top Ten Tuesday (7): Top Ten Books I Want to Give as Gifts

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. This week we are listing:

Top Ten Books I Want to Give as Gifts

Almost all my friends love to read, so the only difficulty in finding gifts is choosing which book to give.  This year, these all occurred to me as potential gifts.

1. Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta: This book took me by surprise with its message of joy through pain.  Something so powerful simply has to be shared.   If you’d like to learn more, you can read my review here.

2. Night Birds’ Reign by Holly Taylor: Many fantasies strive for an epic scope in the tradition of Tolkien, but few succeed.  The complexity and depth of this tale made me realize I’d found a rare treasure.  Look for the review soon.

3. The Girl Who Circumvented Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne M. Valented: I have not read this one yet, but the very title promises something special and imaginative.

4. Floors by Patrick Carman: I enjoy stories that are quirky and imaginative and I can tell from the description that this one is both.

5. Liesl and Po by Lauren Oliver: This promises to be a very beautiful tale.  I’ve already bought a copy for my friend.

6. My Name is Asher Lev by Chaim Potok: Every lover of art and literature should read this book. Read Briana’s review here.

7. The Dot and the Line by Norton Juster: This book chronicles the love triangle of a dot, a line, and a squiggle.  The wordplay is hilarious.  Every time I meet someone who likes math I think of this book as a potential gift, though you don’t have to like math at all to enjoy it.

8. The Clockwork Three by Matthew Kirby: Steampunk has been growing in popularity, but Kirby makes his book feel fresh and new, the only one of its kind.

9. The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien: I can’t help but want to introduce all the children I know to Tolkien.

10. The Innocence of Father Brown by G. K. Chesterton: Chesterton is supremely quotable and he makes you think about life and human nature.  Sometimes I don’t know which Chesterton book to gift, but the premise of a Catholic priest solving mysteries makes this one stand out.

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (7): Top Ten Books I Want to Give as Gifts

Leave a Reply! We'd love to read your thoughts!

